Holiday DUI statistics show that motorists are more likely to share the road with an intoxicated person during the holiday season than at any other time of the year. Likewise, those in Denver and beyond are more likely to be stopped for suspected DUIs between late November and January.
When increased enforcement combines with more opportunities for motorists to make careless mistakes, DUI charges surely follow. Although marijuana DUIs are down sharply, conventional alcohol-related DUIs remain a safety threat.
The Colorado Department of Transportation is known for its Heat is On campaign, which netted more than 7,000 arrests and identified 272 impaired drivers in 2016. Due to its success, drivers can expect a repeat of Heat is On or similar measures for 2017.
Under Colorado’s definition of driving while ability impaired (DWAI), you can be charged with an offense if your capability for driving is impaired “to the slightest degree” by alcohol, drugs, or prescription medications that you are required to use.
In general, the charge of DWAI is leveled when a motorist’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is found to be above 0.05 percent but under 0.08 percent. The even more serious charge of driving under the influence (DUI) is reserved for cases where BAC is at or above 0.08 percent.
The basic idea: DUI laws in Colorado are some of the strictest in the nation, and a conviction can have serious consequences
. Because you can be charged with DWAI for any detectable level of impairment, there is no “safe” amount of alcohol to engage in before you hit the road.
Gender, weight, and a number of other factors can affect BAC – many of these are difficult to predict or measure. While drinking at a holiday party or other occasion, take precautions:
Monitor your intake and the alcohol content of the drinks you are consuming;
Drink plenty of water to minimize dehydration and encourage liver function;
Consume drinks slowly – and call for a taxi if you are in any doubt.
It is particularly important to be alert to danger in the evening and in harsh weather. Driving at night is already more perilous than driving during the day, even when alcohol is not a factor. DUI enforcement is generally stronger at night, and more drivers may behave irresponsibly.
In Colorado, all drivers are considered to have given “express consent” for blood, breath or other testing if a valid arrest with probable cause takes place. However, drivers over the age of 21 may refuse to submit to pre-arrest testing if they choose.
Phone: (303) 860-7353